

SOMERSET CRICKET LEAGUE

Minutes of Committee Meeting held over zoom on 4th October 2022

<u>Present</u>: Edward Martin, Amanda Counsell, Martin King, Derek Hicks, Toby Strang, , Andy Barrett Ray Hancock and Matt Lunn

<u>Apologies</u>: Stuart Shepherd, Tom Packman David Derrick, John Squirrell and Matt Counsell

There were no declarations of interest.

Matters Arising – The Telephone contract has now been cancelled.

Minutes of last meeting were approved and virtually signed.

Correspondence:

Six clubs expressed an interest in joining the league with four clubs deciding to enter in 2023 – of which four decided to apply next season.

Nominations have been received from clubs for Young Player of the Year and All Rounder.

Nominations have been received by around 75% of the clubs regarding Divisional Player's Player.

WEPL confirming promotion and relegation – the way the final results went means the MSL will be 2 up 2 down, with Taunton St Andrews 2 and Butleigh being promoted and Taunton Deane 2 and Minehead returning to our Premier division.

Email from Wisden regarding a limited-edition print of County Ground – to be forwarded to clubs.

Response from Paul Bedford of ECB regarding the practicalities of using General Conduct Regulations confirming he will be using our feedback as part of the current review of the General Regulations.

Email from a player – expressing concern regarding new team entry Various emails from clubs regarding ground unavailability dates

<u>Treasurer's Report</u> The financial year ends on September 30th, and invoices for subscriptions and fines will be sent out to club treasurers. The bank account is now sorted.

Sponsorship: the Monmouth Scientific Sponsorship is due to end at the end of this season. A sub committee is currently talking to a potential new sponsor, and we hope this will be completed as soon as possible.

<u>Disciplinary Issues:</u> Amanda updated the committee on recent discipline issues, fines, and bans. She informed that meeting a recent disciplinary had been heard by a WEPL panel and as a result two players have received suspended bans.

<u>Cricket Balls</u>: An order of ball needs to be made quite soon, hopefully we can tie up sponsorship before order so we can ensure logo is on all balls.

<u>Composition of Divisions 2023 and Fixtures:</u> We have four new sides joining us in 2023, these are Taunton Indians CC 2nds, West Monkton 3rd XI, Beaminster 2nds and Bishop's Hull. The Committee discussed at length the acceptance of new applications to the league.

Amanda shared the composition with the committee, and it was approved. It was noted that the regionalised divisions had not been that easy due to having clubs on the extremities of the county, but each journey had been averaged out over the season in terms of time and mileage and the final composition is the best option. The 2023 season will run from 6th May to 2nd September, however due to an uneven number Division 7 Red will have 11 teams in it and will have 2 additional fixtures

Ray has the ground unavailability requests and we will endeavour to work around these the best we can. Fixtures will be circulated to clubs in mid-December along with all the other leagues in the area.

<u>Awards:</u> The committee looked at the nominations for the Team of the Year, All Rounder of the Year and the Young Player and agreed that the awards for 2022 should be awarded to

All Rounder Mark Tilley Curry Rivel CC

Young Player of the Year – Will Baverstock, North Curry CC

Merit Trophy - Team of the Year - Frome CC

The new Divisional Player's Player Awards will also be presented at the dinner.

Premier Division – Kevin Parsons Taunton St Andrews

Division 1 – Cameron Street North Newton

Division 2 – Dan Lake – Castle Cary

Division 3 - Ben Standfield – Kilmington and Stourton

Division 4 - George Sinnott - Wiveliscombe

Division 5 – Phil Gregory – Purnell

Division 6 SW - Mark Mitchell - Wincanton

Division 6 NE – Jarrad Cave – Shapwick and Polden

Division 7 Blue – Jack Mainwaring – Bear Flat

Division 7 Red – Ben Chislett – Compton Dundon

Division 7 Yellow – Sam Wilson – Kilmington and Stourton

The committee thanked the clubs who took the time to support this new initiative.

The Don Crouch Trophy winner for Fair play was confirmed as Bear Flat CC and the Sunday Independent Trophy for highest aggregated points is jointly shared by Wincanton CC and Shaftesbury Road CC.

League Dinner: The Presentation Evening has been booked with the Somerset County Club at the County Ground for 21st October 2022. Details have been circulated to all clubs with details of menu and how to book.

• Since meeting we have been able to confirm that Tom Abell – captain of SCCC will be our guest of honour.

Rule Changes: Only one proposal has been received at present from Wellington CC proposing bowling circles for all divisions throughout the league – this currently has not be seconded.

<u>AGM</u> – to be held by Zoom on Monday 28th November Meeting closed at 9.05 pm